Infinite Loop with DotNetNuke 4.9


I have worked with Dot Net Nuke (DNN) several years back but I just started working again on the latest version so it’s almost like starting from scratch. It seems that a problem that happens on many DNN installations is the infinite loop bug. In IE this manifests itself by the page not loading while Firefox does present an error message saying that it is stuck in an infinite redirect loop.

There seems to be several known reasons for this behavior:
– trailing / in the alias name
– non default port used in IIS
– .NET AJAX having problems running in Medium Trust mode.

You can find the fixes for these problems in this post for example: http://www.bestwebsites.co.nz/dotnetnuke/solving-the-dotnetnuke-redirect-loop/

However, in my case, it had nothing to do with the above. I was just referencing the wrong cell in a datagrid causing an error which was for some unknown reason to me putting DNN in that infinite redirect loop state. This could have been caused by a bad install on my local machine but I kind of doubt it because it was a very basic install with nothing special.

I found the error by manually tracing the new code I created so I have no solution to track this down. I just wanted to mention it in case someone else has a similar issue to make sure you don’t get stuck on looking only at the 3 solutions presented all over DNN blogs.

Leave a Reply

